Skip to main content

Community centres review

The Hub and The Pavilion (Brent) – update October 2017

This information is for Hyde residents in Brent, users and user groups of the Pavilion and The Hub and local community organisations

Background information

In 2016 we commenced a review of our community centres. We looked at ways in which our community centres could continue to provide vital services to local people, whilst reducing costs so that we can build more homes.

Our consultation on the review ended in December 2016. At the end of the consultation a decision was taken that The Hub and the Pavilion would continue to be managed by Hyde Plus (now the Hyde Foundation) for the immediate future.

At the same time we said we would explore options to reduce our costs by identifying alternative management arrangements for the future with a view to having a permanent arrangement in place for both centres by April 2018

What has happened since the end of the consultation?

We have successfully handed over the management of four of our London community centres which are providing vibrant services to local communities under new management. We have learnt much from this process and we are pleased with the outcome and new leaseholders that we have in place.

What about plans for the Hub and the Pavilion?

We are now beginning work to source alternative permanent management arrangements for the Hub and the Pavilion to be in place by April 2018. We would like to have similar arrangements to the ones that we have in the four centres that are now under new management.

We have started to communicate with our residents, funders and stakeholders, including local MPs and Councillors, to make sure that we are working together towards a successful transition. We will continue to work with local residents, our current user groups and we will pro-actively identify groups and organisations that may wish to take on the management of the centres.

What do these plans mean for current services operating at the Hub and the Pavilion?

The centres WILL NOT CLOSE and we aim to have a smooth transition to a new management. We are committed to minimising any changes to services and endeavour to ensure that current services will not be disrupted. Any new organisation taking over the management of the centres will be obligated through their lease agreement to continue to honour providing space for groups currently using the Hub and the Pavilion.

My organisation is interested in running one or both of the centres. What do I need to do?

There will be an application procedure to ensure a fair selection process. The timetable is as follows:

  • Advertisements released, The Hillside Hub and The Pavilion 30 October 2017
  • Deadline for expression of interest (EOI): 5pm, 10 November 2017
  • Shortlisted EOI applicants that meet minimum criteria will be invited to submit full applications by midnight, 5 December 2017
  • Interviews for shortlisted applicants will take place on 8 & 9 January 2018.

To request an EOI form, email: communitycentresreview@hyde-housing.co.uk

How can we keep up to date with progress?

We will hold drop in information sessions at the Hub and the Pavilion. Residents, centre users and community organisations can pop in to talk to a Hyde representative on the dates and times below.

When Where Time
Wednesday 8 November 2017

Cowen Suite, Hillside Hub, 6 Hillside, London NW10 8BN

Drop in any time between 3pm and 7pm
Thursday 9 November 2017

The Pavilion, Stonebridge Recreation Ground, Hillside, London NW10 8LW

Drop in any time between 3pm and 7pm

We will provide updates here.

To request an EOI pack or send a query, email communitycentresreview@hyde-housing.co.uk Alternatively, call 0800 030 4424.

 

Community centres - completed reviews

Can't find it?